New Directors appointed to the RANZCP Board

At the conclusion of the Annual General Meeting held on Wednesday 18 May 2022, RANZCP President, Associate Professor Vinay Lakra, welcomed newly appointed Directors, Dr Melanie Turner and Dr Pramudie Gunaratne, to the Board.

Dr Melanie Turner is a child and adolescent psychiatrist who trained and lives in South Australia. She has completed her PhD in perinatal psychiatry and has worked in both public and private practice. Dr Turner holds positions on the South Australian Board of the Medical Board of Australia, and also works in the Office of the Chief Psychiatrist (SA). She has ongoing clinical interests in psychopharmacology as well as neurodevelopmental disorders, and has previously been a member of the College’s South Australian Branch Committee and numerous education committees.

Dr Pramudie Gunaratne is the College’s first Appointed Director, Trainee. She holds a double degree in Medicine and International Relations and a Masters in Medicine (Psychiatry) and Science (Public Health). Dr Gunaratne has undertaken her clinical training in Psychiatry in multiple health networks across greater Sydney, and is the recipient of multiple awards, including the World Psychiatric Association Early Career Psychiatrists Fellowship.

The depth of experience and diversity that Dr Turner and Dr Gunaratne bring will be a valuable enhancement to the College Board. They join Board Directors Professor Neeraj Gill, Dr Mark Lawrence, Dr Sue Mackersey and Dr Nick O’Connor who have been re-elected for another term.

The College also extends special thanks to Associate Professor Beth Kotze, whose term on the Board has concluded. Her hard work and dedication to the College has been instrumental in shaping our vision and strategic direction.


More news & views