Objective Structured Clinical Exam (OSCE)

The Objective Structured Clinical Exam (OSCE) is a practical clinical exam. It is a summative assessment of the RANZCP Fellowship Program.

The exam assesses clinical competencies across a range of psychiatric practice areas. The exam is set at the standard expected at the end of Stage 3 of the training program. 

Assessment opportunities 2021 

The College is holding two OSCEs in 2021. 

  • Saturday 24 July 2021 – face-to-face format to be delivered at multiple locations across Australia and New Zealand
  • Saturday 30 October 2021 – face-face format to be delivered at multiple locations across Australia and New Zealand

How to apply

Applications for the October OSCE are now closed.


The Multi-site OSCE consists of six long stations of 20 minutes each (which includes 5 minutes reading time), and one bye station that may be active or inactive of 20 minutes.

Each station will consist of two examiners. 


Candidates, examiners, and role players will be allocated to a local examination centre within Australia and New Zealand. Where there is no venue in the state or you are located, you will be allocated to the nearest venue with capacity.

Applicants who wish to request special consideration to sit in a particular venue should do so under the Special Consideration policy. 

Travel plans

For candidates who are travelling, we ask that you do not make your travel arrangements for immediately following the examination.

Knowing that you have a tight timeframe to catch transport can be stressful therefore we highly recommend that you make travel arrangements at least three hours after the scheduled conclusion of the examination.

Training trajectory

A pass or fail for this examination will be counted towards a candidate's trajectory.

Applying for special consideration

Candidates requesting special consideration for the OSCE must apply in writing to the Committee for Examinations (CFE), in accordance with the Special Considerations Policy (18.2) [PDF; 59 KB]. 
Requests for special consideration must accompany the OSCE Application Form unless exceptional circumstances apply (such as the candidate experiencing a significant change in personal circumstances or medical condition(s) that occur after the examination application close date). 

A separate application for special consideration must be submitted for each examination and for each re-attempt (if any). However, applicants are only required to resubmit the supporting documentation if there is a change in circumstances. 

For exam day

24 July 2021 OSCE - Frequently Asked Questions [PDF; 227 KB]

Proof of identity

On the day of the exam, you must provide valid identification documents (i.e. driver’s licence or passport) before you will be allowed to sit the exam.

Incident reports

Incident reports from the examination need to be submitted within five (5) working days from the examination date.

24 July OSCE incident report form 


Results will be released on the RANZCP website at 5 pm on the specified date in the Examination Timetable

A copy of the candidate’s results will be sent to their Director of Training and/or Director of Advanced Training where applicable and will also be made available via MyRANZCP.


The College reserves the right to cancel the OSCE on the advice of the Australian and New Zealand Health Authorities in relation to COVID-19. If the OSCE does not proceed a full refund will be given. 

MSOSCE COVID-19 Safety Plan [PDF; 149KB] 


Existing OSCE protocols for arrival rules, permitted and prohibited items remain unchanged as per the following documents:

Blueprint descriptors and station coverage

The stations are mapped to the OSCE Blueprint Descriptors, areas of practice accredited for the Fellowship Program and to the CanMEDS roles and Fellowship Competencies.

The Blueprint descriptors cover eight disorder groups and three skills areas relevant to the practice of psychiatry:

  • anxiety disorders
  • child and adolescent disorders
  • medical disorders in psychiatry
  • mood disorders
  • personality disorders
  • psychotic disorders
  • substance use disorders
  • other disorders (e.g. neuropsychiatric, sex, sleep, somatoform, eating, etc.)
  • clinical assessment skills
  • governance skills
  • other skills (e.g., ethics, consent, capacity, collaboration, advocacy, indigenous, rural, etc.)​

An OSCE will have a mood disorder, psychotic disorder, anxiety disorder, medicine in psychiatry, core skills and other disorder station. The Core Skills station will focus on testing core clinical assessment skills, including formulation and management planning.

Review previous OSCE stations

Previous stations are available to review in preparation for the exam




Have you found the information you were looking for?