Congratulations to our final round of 2023 College award winners

A long list of winners was announced earlier this year, and we are pleased to now announce our final group of recipients, which complete an incredible ensemble of College award and grants recipients for 2023.

We look forward to celebrating with many of them at the College Ceremony on 29 May, during Congress.

The Maddison Medallion – Dr Benjamin Newham and Dr Evan Peterson

The Maddison Medallion was established in 1968 to recognise and encourage excellence in the study of psychiatry. It is awarded annually to the candidate who has performed most meritoriously throughout the RANZCP Fellowship training and examination process.

The Mark Sheldon Prize – Prof. Pat Dudgeon AM

The Mark Sheldon Prize was established by the family, friends and colleagues of the late Dr Mark Sheldon to recognise noteworthy contributions to Indigenous mental health in Australia or Aotearoa New Zealand.

Prof. Dudgeon’s meritorious contributions to psychiatry and psychology over decades were strongly commended. From role modelling through to personal and political advocacy, professional activities and community contributions, she has actively and continuously supported best practice in Aboriginal mental health.

The Pirika Taonga – Dr Kiri Prentice

The Pirika Taonga is in memory of Poiti Arama-karaka Pirika, the RANZCP’s Kaumātua from 2008 to 2017. It recognises noteworthy contributions in Māori mental health and addiction in Aotearoa New Zealand. The award may be given to a Māori member of the RANZCP or a member of the Māori community who has contributed to increasing Māori relationships across the New Zealand mental health sector including noteworthy contributions in Māori mental health and addictions in Aotearoa New Zealand.

Dr Prentice has been committed to the broader community in the mental health and wellbeing space, showing strong leadership in psychiatry. Her work to date is an indication of her connection to traditional and contemporary Māori worlds and has contributed significantly to improving Māori health outcomes.

The Scholarly Project Award – Dr Jenna Cheney

The Scholarly Project Award was established in 2017 and provides recognition of the most meritorious Scholarly Project for the prior calendar year.

Dr Cheney was selected for the award for her project ‘The use of the representativeness heuristic by psychiatrists in Early Psychosis diagnosis: a pilot study’. It was a refreshingly innovative and original enquiry into a very important aspect of basic clinical psychiatric practice. She conceived of an experimental design to test her idea, achieving a successful pilot that should pave the way to larger significant research projects.

The Trisno Family PhD Research Scholarship – Dr Malcolm Forbes

The Trisno Family PhD Research Scholarship was established last year thanks to the generous support of College Fellow Dr Roth Trisno and family. The Scholarship provides up to A$60,000 in funding to support research in any psychiatry subspecialty.

Dr Forbes’ study ‘Understanding biological factors associated with depression in older Australians to help better diagnose depression and identify new treatments’ was described as highly feasible, innovative and with a clear dedicated project. The selection panel also noted Dr Forbes’ excellent research track record.

Read more about RANZCP Awards, Grants and Member recognition


More news & views