Congratulations! 2020 College award winners announced

21 April 2020





Each year, the College presents a variety of awards and grants to members and external individuals or organisations to acknowledge outstanding achievements and contributions to psychiatry, the community and the College.

These awards are traditionally presented at the College Ceremony during Congress however, disappointingly, this won’t be possible this year due to the cancellation of Congress 2020.

We will be celebrating our award winners with a digital celebration throughout the month of May, and plan to formally recognise them at an event later this year or in 2021. 

The College is extremely proud of all of this year’s winners, including its newest Honorary Fellow:

Honorary Fellowship of the RANZCP – Ms Caro Swanson

The College warmly congratulates the following RANZCP College award winners:

The College Medal of Honour – Professor Bruce Singh

The College Citation – Associate Professor Josephine Beatson and Associate Professor Ruth Vine

The Ian Simpson Award – Dr Douglas Bell

The Maddison Medallion – Dr Claire Keating

The Margaret Tobin Award – Professor Tarun Bastiampillai

The Mark Sheldon Prize – Dr Donna Clarke and Dr Bruce Gynther

The RANZCP Senior Research Award – Professor Phillipa Hay

The RANZCP Early Career Psychiatrist Award – Dr Philip Mosley

The Scholarly Project Award – Dr Saul Felber

The Lived Experience Australia Award for Best Practice in Consumer and Carer Inclusion – Dr Sally Sinclair

Throughout the year, the RANZCP Foundation awards a suite of grants to support and encourage clinical work, research and other initiatives to improve the mental health and wellbeing of communities.

The Pat, Toni and Peter Kinsman Research Scholarship – Associate Professor Yoram Barak, Professor Paul Glue, Dr Christopher Gale and Associate Professor Natalie Medlicott

The Trisno Family Research Grant in Old Age Psychiatry  – Dr Vivek Phutane

View the winners of the College’s Faculty and Section awards.