Contact us
Keep me logged in
(Don't check this box if you're on a shared computer - learn more)
Forgotten Username / Password?

Fellows awarded Australia Day honours; A/Prof William Brett Emmerson and Dr Martha Louise Kent

16 February 2017

The RANZCP is pleased to see two Fellows amongst the recipients of this year’s Australia Day honours.

The Australia Day honours are conferred annually to special men and women whose actions have set them apart and enriched the Australian community across a broad range of professional, public and community service sectors. It recognises their achievements and service to their fellow citizens.

Congratulations to:

A/Prof William Brett Emmerson, member (AM) in the General Division

A/Prof Emmerson from Queensland was appointed a member of the Order of Australia for significant service to medicine, particularly to psychiatry, to medical administration, and through contributions to mental health groups. He is also a previous recipient of the RANZCP’s Margaret Tobin Award (2007) which recognises special achievement in administrative psychiatry.

Dr Martha Louise Kent, medal (OAM) of the Order of Australia 

Dr Kent from South Australia was awarded a medal of the Order of Australia for service to medicine, particularly to mental health.


The RANZCP also recognises the important work of our members with various awards each year