Contact us
Keep me logged in
(Don't check this box if you're on a shared computer - learn more)
Forgotten Username / Password?

College congratulates new Fellows and honoured award winners

02 May 2017

The College’s newest Fellows, award winners and recipients of advanced training certificates were formally congratulated at the annual College Ceremony held during the RANZCP Congress in Adelaide last night.

The College welcomes to the profession 197 new psychiatrists from across Australia and New Zealand, and 116 Fellows and trainees newly qualified in advanced training certificates in various areas of psychiatry.  

Professor David Crompton [left] receives The Margaret Tobin Award from the RANZCP President Professor Malcolm Hopwood.

A range of awards was presented to Fellows, trainees and individuals to acknowledge their outstanding achievements and contributions to psychiatry, the community and the College, and to recognise excellence in psychiatric research and training. Awards were also given to encourage new and emerging researchers.

The RANZCP’s highest and most prestigious award, the College Medal of Honour, was presented to Professor Ernest Hunter for distinguished and meritorious service to the College.  

Other awards presented or acknowledged at the College Ceremony were:

  • The Faculty of Psychiatry of Old Age Psychiatric Trainee Prize for Scholarly Project – Dr Meagan Ramages

  • The Faculty of Psychiatry of Old Age Prize for the Best Mental Health Service Improvement – Dr Jacqueline Huber

  • The Medlicott Award – Dr Caleb Armstrong

  • The Connell Werry Prize – Dr Lakshman Ratnamohan

  • The Addiction Psychiatry Prize – Dr Kelly Ridley

  • The Faculty of Psychotherapy Essay Prize – Dr Lara Gallur

  • The Faculty of Psychotherapy Research Award – Dr Lakshman Ratnamohan

  • The RANZCP Early Career Psychiatrist Award – Dr Scott Clark

  • The RANZCP Senior Research Award – Professor Michael Breakspear

  • The Mark Sheldon Prize  – Ms Phyllis Tangitu

  • The Maddison Medallion – Dr Steven Moylan

  • The Margaret Tobin Award – Professor David Crompton

  • The Ian Simpson Award – Professor Paul Mullen

  • The College Citation – Professor David Ames and Professor Bruce Singh AM

More information about the International RANZCP Congress of Psychiatry (30 April ­– 4 May 2017) can be found at