Contact us
Keep me logged in
(Don't check this box if you're on a shared computer - learn more)
Forgotten Username / Password?

Membership milestones for 15, 25, 40 and 50 year Fellows

The revitalised RANZCP Member Recognition Program saw the recognition in early 2020 of Fellows who had recently (between 1 July and 31 December 2019) attained the milestone of 15, 25, 40 and 50 years of Fellowship. Each member received a letter from President A/Prof. John Allan accompanied by a commemorative RANZCP lapel pin for their anniversary tier. 25, 40 and 50 year Fellows also received a gift aligning with traditional anniversary themes of silver, ruby and gold.

We would like to congratulate and thank each of the following members for their long association with and contribution to the College and its values. We are grateful for your dedication, support, and contribution to the College’s rich history.

Spotlight on Irene Apel: in recognition of 50 years' RANZCP Fellowship

My primary education was conducted by distance education followed by secondary schooling at All Hallows school, Brisbane. My tertiary education  was courtesy of a commonwealth scholarship to the University of Queensland, graduating with a Bachelor of Medicine and Surgery MBBS in 1958. I was the Medical Officer (Qld Health) at the following facilities:

  • Mater Hospital, South Brisbane
  • Child Guidance Clinics
  • Wolston Park Mental Hospital

In the years that followed,

  • DPM at University of Qld 1966
  • Membership RANZCP 1966
  • Fellowship RANZCP 1970 
  • MRC. Psych London 1970
  • Member Australian College of Pediatrics 1970 

In addition to full time private practice, I was the Consultant pediatric psychiatrist to the following: 

  • Mater Children’s Hospital, South Brisbane
  • Mater Mother’s Hospital, South Brisbane
  • Repatriation department (Veterans Affairs)
  • Qld Autistic Children’s Association
  • Qld Spastic Welfare League


Working with Legal Aid Queensland to establish separate representation of children in the family court.

Working with the Qld Police (Juvenile Aid) in the management of troubled adolescents and establishing guidelines to identify and treat abused children.

I am married to Roderick Apel (Psychiatrist) and have a family of 5 children and 17 grandchildren. I retired to the family rural property in 1995 and today reside on the Sunshine Coast.

Spotlight on Peter Fama: in recognition of 50 years’ RANZCP Fellowship

A Kiwi, I was trained through the University of Queensland postgraduate psychiatry course, and became a member of the College in 1969.

I was elected a Fellow in 1979. My career included 11 years from 1990 to 2001 as the director of John Oxley Memorial Hospital, then the principal forensic psychiatry centre for the State of Queensland.

I retired from practice in 2010. I retain my interests in old British motor cars, classic Italian movies, and cats.

Membership milestones for 15, 25, 40 and 50 year Fellows

The following Fellows, recognised recently as part of the new Member Recognition Program, attained their membership milestone between 1 July and 31 December 2019:

15 year Fellows

25 year Fellows

40 year Fellows

50 year Fellows

Dr Megan Archer
Dr Peyman Bakhtiarian
Dr Tarun Bastiampillai
Dr Morris Bersin
Dr Lawrence Blumberg
Dr Jill Buchan
Dr Gary Budrikis
Dr Sally Byrne
Dr Jacqueline Canessa
Dr Leighton Chadwick
Dr Scott Chambers
Dr Gary Cheung
Dr Natasha Chow
Dr Alfred Chung
Dr Mary Davison
Dr Belinda Edwards
Dr Jacobus Erasmus
Dr Magdi Fahmi
Dr Brett Ferguson
Dr Keri Fitch
Dr Rosalind Foy
Prof. Andrew Goddard
Dr Zlatan Golic
Dr Margaret Graham
Dr Deanna Grose
Dr Beate Harrison
Dr Dionne Hayward
Dr Barbara Hodgson
Dr Peter Hoffman
Dr Olisaemeka Isichei
Dr Rajeev Jairam
Dr Jarret Johnston
Dr Andrew Kaill
Dr Taraneh Khoo
Dr Barbara Kulijewicz
Dr Julia Lane
Dr Trevor Lau
Dr Blair Leslie
Dr Casimir Liber
Dr Jacqueline Liggins
Dr May Matias
Dr Stuart McCormack
Dr Jonathan McKinnon
Dr Joanne McSweeney
Dr Kristof Mikes-Liu
Dr Karen Miller
Dr Kirsty Morris
Dr Vikas Moudgil
Dr Katherine-Ann Moyles
Dr Kim Nguyen
Dr Thinh Nguyen
Dr Colin Peebles
Dr Yasna Petrunic
Dr Channarayapatna Prasanna
Dr Alma Rae
Dr Lydia Rusch
Dr Elizabeth Salgado
Dr Meta Schenk
Dr Himadri Seth
Dr Vicki Shephard
Dr Barbara Sinclair
Dr Alexander Srzich
Dr Ivan Srzich
Dr Nicola Stephens
Dr Elizabeth Stirling
Dr Nazila Tai
Dr Rajeshkumar Tanna
Dr Kim Tanner
Dr Khue Tran
Dr Raluca Tudor PSM
Dr Kumaranayagam Vigneswaran
Dr Paul Vroegop
Dr Andrew Wake
Dr Ben Wells
Dr Gregory Weppner
Dr Bethany Whitehouse
Dr Sean Yenson
Dr Sotiria Zergiotis
Dr Margaret Aimer 
Dr Ishrat Ali 
Dr Francisco Bagulho 
Dr Michael Bowden 
Dr Lawrence Brain 
Dr Anne Camac 
Dr Jane Casey 
Dr Catherine Curson 
Dr Matthew Eggleston 
Dr Mandy Evans 
Dr Sylvia Florin 
Dr Maureen Kenny 
Dr Martha Kent OAM
Dr Jack Kirszenblat 
Dr Anthony Korner 
Dr Fatma Lowden 
Dr Joan Marren-Healy 
Dr Gunvant Patel 
Dr Michael Paton 
Dr Jacinta Powell 
Prof. Dennis Velakoulis 
Dr Anne Young
Prof. Bryanne Barnett AM
Dr Jennifer Bergen 
Dr Helen Bichan 
Dr John Bowles 
Dr Judith Chittenden 
Dr Charles Doutney 
Dr Warwick Eaton 
Dr Roderick Edwards 
Dr Kenneth Fox 
Dr Thomas George 
Dr Peter Gilchrist 
Dr Janina Gipslis 
A/Prof. Nick Paoletti 
Dr Aruna Reddy 
Dr Jane Rowden 
Prof. Michael Sawyer 
Dr Charles Schembri 
Dr Norman Shum 
Prof. John Snowdon 
Dr Christopher Sochan 
Dr Jeffrey Taylor 
Dr Jennifer Tudehope
Dr Irene Apel
Dr Gary Barnes
Dr Ian Burges Watson
Dr Hari Chopra
Dr Alan Cotton
Dr Richard Curnow
Dr Graham Edwards
Dr Peter Fama
Dr Rodney Farnbach
A/Prof. John Fielding
Dr Alan Frazer
Dr Howard Gorton
Dr Peter Grant
Prof. Russell Meares
Dr Peter Shea
Dr Anthony Zorbas

2020 College award winners
2020 subspecialty award and grant winners