## Practice, Policy and Partnerships Committee (PPPC): How, What, Why?

Dr Lyndy Matthews and Dr Nick Judson PPPC Deputy Chairs





The RANZCP PPPC, and its six constituent committees are responsible for delivering on priorities in the College's Strategic Plan to improve the mental health of the community, particularly as they relate to the practice, professional roles and the profession of psychiatry.

Committee membership comprises psychiatrists from across New Zealand and Australia, trainee representation and members of the community who have lived experience of mental illness, who provide their perspectives, knowledge and experience.





BACKGROUND

The PPPC is chaired by a Board Director and oversees six committees: Te Kaunihera; Committee for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Mental Health; the Community Collaboration Committee; Committee for Professional Practice; Committee for Evidence-Based Practice and the Committee for Research. These Committees encompass professional and clinical psychiatry practice, research, and collaboration with community members including Māori and Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples.

Each committee has a work plan with a schedule of delivery. In addition, throughout the year, many inquiries and consultations, being undertaken by government and other organisations, are referred to the committees to inform the College's submission.



Supported by the College's PPP Department, the PPPC works in close collaboration with its constituent committees, Faculties, Sections, Networks, Tu Te Akaaka Roa, Branches and other committees.

## STRUCTURE **2020 Policy Summary** RANZCP BOARD **PPPC Committee** Chair: Dr Elizabeth Moore Across 10 jurisdictions submissions 7 College (New Zealand and to New **Partnerships and Community Statements** Practice and the Profession Portfolio Australian federal, state Zealand and **Portfolio** (new and Deputy Chair: Dr Nick Judson and territory Australian revised) Deputy Chair: Dr Lyndy Matthews governments) Governments and agencies Te Kaunihera **Committee for Professional Practice** Chair: Dr Claire Paterson Chair: Associate Professor Geoff Smith **Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Committee for Evidence-Based Mental Health Committee Practice** Chair: Dr Siva Balaratnasingam Chair: Dr Edward Petch 29 submissions on **Community Collaboration Committee** More than 125 submissions key health system **Committee for Research** Co Chair: Associate Professor Simon Stafrace and funding issues Chair: Associate Professor Dan Siskind Co Chair: Ms De Backman-Hoyle

## PPPC priorities for 2020 include...

- Evidence-based clinical & professional practice resources on: therapeutic use of medicinal cannabis; trauma informed practice; cultural safety; mental health care for children and adolescents experiencing gender dysphoria; medico-legal reporting; voluntary assisted dying; telehealth
- Supporting Maori and Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander trainees on the pathway to Fellowship
- Awarding of research grants to Fellows and trainees
- Contributing to the College's advice to our governments and communities about mental health care during the COVID-19 pandemic, through media releases, government submissions and participating in constructive dialogue with various government ministers and departments.

The RANZCP's PPPC and its constituent committees are proactive in developing policies, guidelines and resources as well as aiming to proactively inform and influence the mental health policies of governments and other key stakeholders. Key to the success of this work is engagement with other College committees, members, consumers and carers who have lived experience and the wider community.