Contact us
Keep me logged in
(Don't check this box if you're on a shared computer - learn more)
Forgotten Username / Password?

Faculty/Section awards

The RANZCP Section of Psychotherapy Essay Prize

The RANZCP Section of Psychotherapy Essay Prize is made available annually, for the best essay submitted by a psychiatry trainee or recent Fellow on a psychotherapy topic. Applications are made by submission of a suitable paper (which should be 2000 to 3000 words in length, and be suitable for publication in a refereed scientific journal). The Prize is valued at A$1,000.
.More information [PDF]

The Medlicott Award

The Medlicott Award was established in 1999 in honour of Professor Emeritus Reginald Medlicott, the inaugural President of the RANZCP following its incorporation in 1963.

The Award is designed to encourage achievements and excellence in research in forensic psychiatry, and is open to Advanced Trainees in Forensic Psychiatry or Fellows who have achieved the Advanced Certificate in Forensic Psychiatry within the 24 months prior to the 30 November deadline.
.More information [PDF]

The Addiction Psychiatry Prize

The Addiction Psychiatry Prize is an annual prize awarded to a Psychiatric Trainee (Basic or Advanced), or a Fellow who has recently completed the Certificate of Advanced Training in Addiction Psychiatry. The prize is an incentive award of the College, designed to encourage achievements and excellence in addiction psychiatry. 
.More information [PDF]

The Howard Cooper Travelling Fellowship

Named in honour of the late Dr Howard Cooper, a former Chair of the RANZCP’s Faculty of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry, the Fellowship is made annually to a visiting overseas trainee psychiatrist or psychiatrist from the Asia-Pacific region who wishes to gain experience in child and adolescent psychiatry in Australia or New Zealand.
.More information [PDF]

The Connell Werry Prize

The Connell Werry Prize is an annual prize awarded to an Advanced Trainee in Child and Adolescent Psychiatry for the most outstanding paper or poster presented at the annual meeting of the RANZCP’s Faculty of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry. The Prize honours Dr John Werry and Dr Helen Connell, who were pioneers in the field of child and adolescent psychiatry in New Zealand and Australia.
.More information [PDF]

Lundbeck Institute Fellowships for Old Age Psychiatry

The Lundbeck Fellowships are intended to increase interest and expertise in the psychiatry of old age, enhance clinicians’ skills, and promote international contacts. Fellowships will be awarded to two psychiatrists, one in Australia and one in New Zealand, working in the field of psychiatry of old age who qualified as specialists less than 10 years ago.
Each Fellowship entails a trip to the Lundbeck Institute in Copenhagen, to attend a residential education program on “Dementia and depression in older adults”. A further week is also spent at selected old age psychiatry centres in Utrecht, Netherlands and London.

Faculty of Psychiatry of Old Age Essay/Project Prizes

The RANZCP’s Faculty of Psychiatry of Old Age Prizes were established in 2012 to promote excellence in advancing the Quality of Life in Older People with Mental Illness by:

  • Encouraging and promoting the highest clinical and ethical standards in the delivery of Psychiatry of Old Age services amongst psychiatry trainees in Australia and New Zealand.
  • Encouraging and promoting training in Psychiatry of Old Age of the highest standard for psychiatrists, trainee psychiatrists, medical students, related health professionals, students of related health professions and other medical practitioners.

The prizes are:

The Prizes are made available annually and will facilitate presentation of the winning work at the RANZCP Congress.

For further information on any RANZCP award, please email